Radiologic Technology

IMG_4935

As I’ve mention, I graduated at De La Salle Health Sciences Institute majoring Radiologic Technology (2015) but with my past experiences, not all people are aware about my course in college. We are sometimes mistaken for being a radio technician, nurse, doctor, or whatsoever. For the first time in my blog, I want to discuss anything or everything about being a Radiologic Technologist. What do we do, what are we for, and how do we work in a medical team. So, let’s get this started =)

Overview

According to Republic Act 7431, Section 3 (Definition of Terms),

  • Radiologic technology is an auxiliary branch of radiology which deals with the technical application of radiation, such as x-rays, beta rays, gamma rays, ultrasound and radio frequency rays, in the diagnosis and treatment of disease;
  • X-ray technology is an auxiliary branch of radiology which deals with the technical application of x-rays as aid in the diagnosis of diseases and injuries;
  • Radiologic Technologist is a bona fide holder of a certificate of registration for radiologic technology issued by the Board of Radiologic Technology in accordance with this Act;
  • Radiology is a branch of medical science which deals with the use of radiation in the diagnosis, treatment and research of diseases;
  • Radiologist is a licensed physician who specializes in the diagnosis or treatment of disease with the use of radiation;
  • Radiologic technologists are the health care professionals who perform diagnostic imaging procedures, such as X-ray examinations, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scans and computed tomography scans. Some of them specialize in specific techniques such as cardiovascular-interventional radiography, mammography or sonography.

4 Years in College

To be honest, I enrolled in college with Radiologic Technology as my course but I actually no idea what I am taking. My Mom wanted me to take this course because few of my cousins are successful Radiologic Technologists already. I passed the entrance exam and an interview was conducted before the enrollment. During my interview, the professor asked me what do I know about this course and I almost panicked because I only know it is related to x-rays so that’s what I said. He explained to me that a Radiologic Technologist won’t just deal with x-rays. There are ultrasound, nuclear medicine, mammography, MRI, CT Scan, and many more. I got a bit surprised because I didn’t expect it to be like that.

As time passes by, I learned many things and I got to know more my course. First year and second year was just chill while third year was the most crucial stage. You have to pass all the subjects especially major subjects. You can’t be an intern (4th year) if you have back subjects.

Major Subjects:

Radiologic Physics (2 semester), Radiologic Positioning and Radiographic Procedures, Radiographic Technique and Film Processing I and II (2 semester), Medical Term, Human Anatomy and Physiology, Patient Care and Management, Community and Public Health, Radiobiology and Radiation Protection, Radiographic Contrast and Technique, Nuclear Medicine, Magnetic Resonance and Imaging, Computed Tomography, Ultrasonography, Radiotherapy, Venipuncture, Health Economics with Taxation and Reform, Radiologic Pathology, Quality Assurance and Quality Control, Thesis (3rd year, 2 semester and 1 summer class) and Case Study (4th Year, 2 semester)

Minor Subjects:

Organic Chemistry, Physics, Zoology, Biology, etc.

Note: This is also a pre-med course. It is in demand nowadays.

Internship Program

 

The internship program was another battle. I don’t know how it goes to other schools. Some of their policies and program are different. To us, we had to be on duty for 5 days (8 hours) on the hospital for a total of 1056 hours per semester. We also have to go to school on Friday’s for academic purposes/exam day/preparation for board exam/case study. The school will designate you to a hospital and you can’t just say no. You can’t also be absent without any valid reason. To my school, if the reason is not valid, one absent is equal to 3 make-up duty and if you exceed 15 days of make-up duty, you’ll have to repeat the internship program.

Uniform

For first year and second year, we wear our white uniform (blouse and pants) and black shoes. For third year, white uniform and scrub suit. For internship, white uniform and white shoes and scrub suit (depends on the hospital). This goes the same for other schools, BSRT students wear pants. 🙂

Schools

De La Salle Health Sciences Institute, St Jude College-Cavite, University of Perpetual Help System DALTA, Emilio Aguinaldo College-Cavite, St. Dominic College of Asia, St Jude College-Manila, University of Makati, Martinez Memorial College, Family Clinic, Far Eastern University Nicanor Reyes Medical Foundation, Chinese General Hospital Colleges, Medical Colleges of Northern Philippines, Central Luzon Doctors’ Hospital Educational Institution, Holy Angel University, Lyceum of the Philippines University – Batangas and Laguna, Cebu Doctors’ University, Davao Doctors College, Saint Louis University, Nazarenus College, etc.

Licensure Examination

Just like other medical professionals, a graduate cannot apply  to a job unless he/she is licensed. Unfortunately, things changed the past year. The Professional Regulation Comission , together with the Board of Readiologic Technology, conducts the exam only once a year. The licensure examination here in the Philippines includes 5 subjects; Radiographic Positioning (and Special Procedures), Radiographic Technique, Radiographic Physics, Patient Care (and Anatomy), and Radiologic Sciences (Ultrasound, Nuclear Medince, MRI, CT Scan). The examinations abroad are different. If you want to work overseas, you have to take their examination even if you already passed the licensure exam here in the Philippines, like HAAD in Abu Dhabi.

Work

A Radiologic Technologist can either work in the hospital or clinic. It depends on his/her preference. But to be honest, most Radiologic Technologists here in the Philippines don’t earn much that’s why they prefer to work overseas. The work in public hospitals is very different from work in private hospitals.

IMG_9918


I hope you learned something from this post! I made this not to scare people from taking this course but to inspire people. I’m not a studious nor a bright kid way back but I survived my college life. I also want other people to know more about this course. They might want to take it someday. Please don’t underestimate this course. All of the medical courses are not easy. ‘Til next time 😉

One thought on “Radiologic Technology

  1. Gian

    Thank you very much for making this post, I have learned so much from it. I’ve kinda made up my mind about taking RadTech for college so thank this helped me so much. Good thing I stumbled upon this post when I did cause right now I am looking and studying recent entrance exam samples for RadTech…Im one year away from College. Hope I’ll have the same luck as you.

Leave a Reply

